What is the Minimum Age to Marry in Michigan?
How old does a person need to be in order to get married in Michigan? The age is much younger than you may think because there is no minimum age if certain requirements are met.
In Michigan, persons who are 18 years or older may marry without any parental consent. Persons who are 16 or 17 may marry with parental consent. Children less than 16 years old may be married by a probate judge with parental consent. The secret marriage statute that allows children under age 16 to marry was passed in 1897. Several bills have recently been introduced to establish a minimum age to marry in Michigan.